Technology Takeover

One thing that drives me crazy about technology is that as humans we get lazy. I appreciate technology when pretty flat screen TV’s come out and . . . well that’s about it. I’ve gotten hooked to computers but it was a long process. When typing papers became a norm, I was actually enough of a dork to miss writing things out in pen and giving it personality (plus I have nice handwriting). When mp3 players came out, I held on to my CD player until 2006, and greatly admire the endangered CD players that have managed to survive until 2008.

I’m not going to sit and rant against something that I use daily, but I feel that technology has taken the personality and effort out of everything, especially in America, but I’ll get to the American thing later. Before you had to go to library and read several books to get a good concrete paper, now everyone goes to wikipedia or google search. And what effort does that require? What do you get out of it? I mean when everything has been simplified to a few keys, what happens to the books, and what happens to knowledge? Is that left for the dying few that care enough to research in the library and not the internet? But I can’t blame the individual; society is also to be blamed.

With technology America above all other countries has changed its lifestyle. Instead of “oh, we can do a paper in one hour and then go watch a movie or go to a paartay,” it’s more like “yeh, I finished one paper in an hour, now I can write 5 other ones for tomorrow.” We don’t take advantage of the fact that we can do things easily, but instead we take on more responsibility. More,and MOre, and MORe, and MORE!

In the movie, Infamous, Sandra Bullock, who plays famed author Harper Lee, says, “America is not a country where the small gesture goes noticed, we’re not a country like France where charm, something light or evanescent can survive. We want everything you have, and we want it as fast as you can turn it out. This is exactly the problem with technology, there’s never enough time to appreciate the product until a new and improved one comes out. Every time we get something, we’re just waiting for the next big thing. I know that consumerism drives America, but do we even appreciate how far we’ve come? I don’t think so, I don’t think we see our advancement as a leisure, but as a given.

I love America for its availability and advancement, but I admire other countries, like France, for its strong appreciation of life. I guess as much as I love the accessibility, I would prefer to savor life. I rather write letters than write emails, and sip wine instead of soda. I think that we, as a people, need to stop and smell the roses, appreciate life and not get caught up in all the hype.

I wish it was easy to say that I could stop in the middle of all the chaos, but the truth is that in America you have to be up to speed. If you stop and smell the roses, you get left behind. So, it’s not about the individual, but as a society we need to take action and create a movement where advancement doesn’t dictate our lives, but we create a balance between enjoying life and progression.

One thought on “Technology Takeover

  1. Hi,
    Read and enjoyed your thoughts on technology.

    When was the last time you wrote a letter and sipped some wine?

    For me, it was yesterday. I sat down, smelled the roses, wrote a letter, and sipped some water.

    And, how was your day.?……….C

Leave a Reply

