Have a Little Faith. . .

I’ve been semi-busy and also semi-purposely avoiding writing. I was worried about sounding bitter or angry versus insightful and candid because to be honest I’m still a little guarded about men and relationships. I thought that being guarded is a good thing but being guarded leads you to be defensive and yes, sometimes bitter. It’s important to proceed with caution but it’s also important to not fall victim to fear. This weekend I realize how little faith I have in people and in this case men. My cousin constantly repeated to me, “Have a little faith in people,” and each time she said it, I realized, I don’t.

When you get to this point, it’s important that you do a bit of backpedaling because if you don’t re-evaluate yourself then you can get to a dangerous place. Not only bitter and guarded but just plain angry. I realize that as safe as it is to be skeptical of people, it’s definitely easier than taking the chance of trusting someone again. But of course, I don’t do easy, so I’m willing to push through this bitterness and so should you.

Do it for yourself because being angry, bitter, and doubtful only hurts you. Everyone will go on with their life and you’ll just end up with wrinkles and alone. No one wants to be around a sour puss!

What do you think? Are you angry? Bitter? Are you willing to change? Do you even think you should change? How do you balance being cautious and open?

5 thoughts on “Have a Little Faith. . .

  1. girl, I am to the point beyond angry. I am furious! but the good thing is that I am self-aware and always take a few steps back before I go overboard. Being furious only hurts me.

    1. That’s what I realize. I’m sitting here upset and everyone is else is going on with his or her life. Old habits die hard but it’s important to control your emotions so that you can control your life and not get wrinkles!

  2. I hear ya. After a string of bad luck (why do I attract married men pretending to be single?), I think every man is lying to me. But I recognized I’m being irrational to a degree. So stepped back, took a break, working on getting perspective.

    Hang in there.

    1. I’m sure it’s not you Heidi! I once had a man who admitted to having a girlfriend and had a toddler car seat follow me in his car insisting that I give him my number. It happens to the best of us! Just keep on ignoring those jerks, you never want to be second, someone will come around soon and make you his number 1. Thanks for reading!

  3. I’m glad to see that you are both practicing self-awareness! It’s good to know that not all of us succumb to the cynical monster in us.

Leave a Reply

